Drake Leads Off 5 Cash Money Releases for 2009

Posted on July 25, 2009 • 0 Comments

After a relatively small set of offerings over the last several years, Cash Money Records has announced that it will release five albums before the end of 2009.

In an interview with All Hip Hop, Cash Money CEO Bryan “Baby” Williams revealed that the first release will be the label’s newest signee, rapper/actor Drake.

“Drake album, my album, Young Money, Wayne album. We gon’ put ‘em all out in one month, September going into October,” Williams said of the releases. “G. Malone and 2 Pistol probably come out in between all of that.”
The buzz that Cash Money has in the industry is only rivaled by the label’s initial buzz after signing a historic $30 million deal with Universal in 1998. Currently, Drake’s single “Best I Ever Had” is climbing the charts, while Young Money’s “Every Girl” [click to watch] and Baby’s “Stay Strapped” are all keeping the label in the public eye.

“And it’s just coincidence that all our songs popped off at the same time [since] some of them been out longer than others,” Williams added.

For fans who can’t get enough of the label’s biggest star, Lil Wayne, Williams also noted that the Young Money compilation will be released the same day as Wayne’s next outing, Rebirth

Source: HipHopDx

Related posts:

  1. Drake Signs with Young/Cash Money/Universal Motown Records!
  2. Drake Spotted With Family In Memphis; Preps Young Money Album
  3. Drake Signing Sparks Skirmish At Universal
  4. ‘I Plan To Work With Lil Wayne For The Rest Of My Career’
  5. Drake Reacts to Lil Wayne’s Jail Sentence


Leave a comment


PREVIOUS POST: With Drake, Trey Songz Makes Another Case For His ‘King Of Remixes’ Title

NEXT POST: Drake Says Gucci Maine Aint On The Map Yet


Scroll to Top